ACM Multimedia Asia Conference (MM Asia)

Steering Committee Homepage



Goals & Missions

ACM International Conference on Multimedia in Asia (MM Asia) is a newly established international conference to showcase the scientific achievements and industrial innovations in the multimedia field. MM Asia is organized by SIGMM China Chapter and sponsored by SIGMM. Its mission is to illuminate the state of the art in multimedia computing by bringing together researchers and practitioners in this field. It is essential to ensure that the conference includes sessions for presenting high-quality research papers and for sharing practitioner experience.

Conference Date

The targeted submission deadline would be middle of July (in coordination with ACM Multimedia and ACM ICMR), and opening date would be December or January.

Conference Location

As China has the largest multimedia community in Asia, we propose to rotate the locations in a 3-year window including Asian countries and Australia.

Paper Review

MM Asia conference will maintain the consistent review criteria (double-blinded review similar as ACMMM), consistent acceptance rate (usually around 30%), as well as international organizing and technical program committees.

Conference Finance

SIGMM will officially sponsor the MM Asia Conference. SIGMM China Chapter will coordinate the conference organizations.

Conference Review

SIGMM China Chapter will prepare annual reports of the MM Asia conferences and submit to SIGMM Steering Committee for review. MM Asia is expected to maintain excellent paper quality, professional reputation and financial status. A major review and decision on whether to continue the sponsorship will be made after the 3rd year.

Organzing Conference Guideline

Please check out this link for the guideline of organizing ACM Multimedia Asia Conference.

Steering Committee

The steering committee will consist of experts in Asia and a few active and experienced researchers from SIGMM and Europe/America. The Steering Committee members will be re-elected with respect to the change of the corresponding positions or replaced by the selected general chairs of conferences in a window of around three years.

Tao Mei *

SIGMM China Chapter Conference Director

JD AI Research, China

Changsheng Xu *

SIGMM China Chapter Chair
PCM Steering Committee Vice Chair

Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Alan Smeaton


Dublin City University, Ireland

Gerald Friedland

SIGMM Conference Director

UC Berkeley/Lawrence Livermore National Lab, USA

Alberto Del Bimbo


University of Florence, Italy

Wenwu Zhu

Former TMM EiC

Tsinghua University, China

Thomas Plagemann

Former MMSJ EiC

University of Oslo, Norway

Ling Guan

PCM Steering Committee Chair

Ryerson University, Canada

Rita Cucchiara

EU representative

Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy

Klara Nahrstedt

US representative

University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, USA

Tat-Seng Chua

SG representative

National University of Singapore, Singapore

Lexing Xie

AU representative

Australian National University, Australia

Hyeran Byun

KR representative

Yonsei University, Korea

Kiyoharu Aizawa

JP representative

The University of Tokyo, Japan

Wen-Huang Cheng

TW representative

National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Chong Wah Ngo

HK representative

City University of Hong Kong

Yong Rui

CN representative

Lenovo Research, China

* Tao Mei and Changsheng Xu will act as the Steering Committee Chair for the term of 2019-2021.
Last updated on March 2021, by Tao Mei